To The Maxx


octsoberfest
September 30, 2007, 11:45 pm
Filed under: music

1. i saw trent reznor at dinner tonight.

2. this radiohead shit is brilliant. no viral marketing months in advance, no single in rotation, no full-album leak to the internet. just music and people. once the artists allow their public to assign their own value to the music, the record industry will be done for. i will happily throw down a few bucks for the download. and you should too.

3. NEW MIXTAPE!!!!!!!!

me lords and ladies, the monthly mixtape will now be available for your digital delight on the first of each month, not the fifteenth as was previously the case. because the last one was all wesleyan bands, i had a surplus of rad non-wesleyan stuff i was discovering and i just couldn’t sit on it for another fifteen days.

so get excited. this is the tight styles.

DOWNLOAD: MAXX MIXX, OCTOBER 2007 (57:20/224 kbps/91.9 MB)

1. The Budos Band “Budos Rising” Tradition says to start the monthly mix with an instrumental track, and I’m not one to buck tradition. Budos is an instrumental afro-soul outfit from Staten Island (Wu Tang Forever) on the unstoppable Daptone Records.

2. Bat For Lashes “What’s A Girl To Do?”
Bat For Lashes is the work of Natasha Khan, of the eminent Pakistani squash-playing Khans. A perfect otherworldly blend of past and future sounds. You may have also heard me gushing about the music video.

3. Enon “Dr. Freeze” Formed by John Schmersal in the wake of Brainiac, Enon have returned with their first album of new material since 2003. This band is consistently excellent and the new record is no exception.

4. Ra Ra Riot “Each Year (RAC Mix)”
Essential remix of essential song. Who is RAC? This is RAC. Interesting.

5. Ghostland Observatory “Sad, Sad City” Simple and effective. They’re a duo from Austin. I hope that the “sad sad city” isn’t Austin, because I always found Austin to be rather lovely.

6. Celebration “Pony”
I caught most of Celebration’s set at Coachella a few years ago after running full speed back to the car, where I’d left my ticket. I got winded and was wheezing all day. For this reason, I will forever associate their music with breathlessness. Dave Sitek of TV On The Radio produced the new record.

7. Shocking Pinks “Emily” Just signed to DFA Records. One dude from New Zealand who used to be in The Brunettes. From this song alone, I’m really stoked to hear the whole album.

8. Prinzhorn Dance School “Crackerjack Docker” Also just signed to DFA records. This one has much more of the typical DFA “dance-punk” sound, if you will. It’s super sparse, almost austere, but the strong sense of humor in the lyrics and delivery make the song much more enjoyable to my ears.

9. Letters Letters “Want To”
More no-wave noise. This time from Montreal. Can’t get enough of all the bleeps and boops. And the sound of girls counting. I always love that.

10. The Wolfhounds “Anti Midas Touch” A brilliant cut from one of the best compilations I bought this year, CD86: 48 Tracks From The Birth Of Indie Pop. It’s all mid-80s UK anorak pop and it’s all good, but this one is just too ridiculously catchy.

11. Film School “Lectric” Dreamy swirly sweet stuff from the Golden State. These guys have been around for a while and they’re still sounding totally on point. On tour with To The Maxx fave Land of Talk.

12. Of Montreal “Du Or Meg” I have been repeatedly listening to this recent EP track like an obsessive fan. I think it’s because the horns remind me of Dexy’s Midnight Runners. Seeing them and MGMT in November!

13. A Place To Bury Strangers “I Know I’ll See You” Recent object of Pitchfork’s affection. The album is pretty intensely noisy, but this song gently burrows into your head, as opposed to the rest of them which are mostly in the “pulverize your head” category.

14. Candie Payne “By Tomorrow”
This girl is fantastic. She’s from Liverpool and she’s my age and her songs are moody and groovy and dramatic… like Amy Winehouse with less obvious influences and a more fragile voice. I’ve got a crush.

15. Les Savy Fav “What Would Wolves Do?” Another “wolf” song? I didn’t love the new album when I first listened to it, but it’s starting to grow on me for sure.

16. Midnight Juggernauts “Into The Galaxy”
ELO worshipping Aussies, touring the US right now with Justice. Sounds like a duet between Daft Punk and Bowie. This my shit.

17. Dragons Of Zynth “Get Off” Some wild wild wild dynamics here… don’t let the name turn you off. This band is fronted by twins who studied music theory under Yusef Lateef, they’ve recorded with the aforementioned Dave Sitek and Kyp Malone of TVOTR and are going on tour with the aforementioned Celebration. I believe this song has a backwards Massive Attack sample in it.

18. Totally Radd!! “Cold Moonlight” Los Angeles vidiots get melodramatic with a little help from fellow keytar-wielder Juliette Commagere of Hello Stranger.

19. Lee Moses “Time And Place” Who sampled this? Did someone sample this? Or have I just heard it so many times it seems like someone sampled it?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Somehow the Radiohead website led me to end up watching Rick Astley and now I can’t stop singing that GD song. I’ve been Rickrolled, apparently.

I want to see Trent Reznor at dinner! That’s crazy.

Also, love love Sad Sad City. Caught a teensy bit of Ghostland Observatory at the Monolith Festival at Red Rocks a few weeks ago and I was m. mightily impressed. Thanks for the other recommendations, I look forward to listening to the tunes.

Comment by heather

i almost didn’t go tonight because it meant driving down right after work, and i spent most of my work day wondering, “why the hell am i dressed like jennifer beals straight out of Flash Dance?”

but i went, and i’m glad that i did: bat for lashes + delta room = NIRVANA

thanks, max!

Comment by Le Chew Toy

Trent reznor at dinner? How’d that happen and what exactly happened at dinner with him?

Comment by Ben

word on midnight juggernauts. shocking pinks. celebration. Dragons of Zynth.

Comment by Justin

that pic! “yodel-ahh-hee-who”, pass the brew :))
thanks for the great food for listen

Comment by rebsue1




Leave a Reply

