To The Maxx


this charming man
April 16, 2007, 11:33 pm
Filed under: music

hello and welcome to my little corner of the internets.

if you didn’t already know, i’ve been keeping a tour blog during my adventures with Mr. Pete Yorn, but now we’re off the road and i decided it would be worthwile to keep chugging along with my own web presence.

it is april 16, 2007 and in one week i am moving into a new place in a neighborhood that i really like. things is heck of crazy between the impending move and various projects i’ve got going on (film, music, film, regaining sanity). i’m actually procrastinating right now by writing this, but…. well, what else is new.

i’m in that crazy mode of de-cluttering, where you dig into the depths of a drawer and find the oldest, weirdest things. like why do i have three different “Yo MTV Raps” Fab Five Freddy cards? and should i recycle them or try to sell them on ebay (eh…. more work)? these are the big questions right now.

THINGS I LIKE TODAY:

1. iConcertCal
brought to my attention by Heather Browne. it’s the ultimate application for the live music/itunes obsessive. I’m looking into my future and seeing… more rock shows.

2. virb.com
the “myspace killer.” well, not quite yet. nobody’s on the damn thing. but it has a lot of potential. i’m kind of obsessed with their virbTunes thingy where it tells everybody what you’ve been listening to and then if any of those bands has a page on virb, a link pops up. handy.

3. these songs

JAY REATARD “MY SHADOW”
(buy/myspace)

ramones + buzzcocks + memphis + a little blood = i’m obsessed

and, on the other end of the spectrum…

MAGGIE CHEUNG/DAVID ROBACK“DOWN IN THE LIGHT”
(buy)

this is from the Olivier Assayas film “Clean.” the song is written and produced by Roback, founding member-dude of the great Mazzy Star (he was also in Rain Parade). in the film, Maggie Cheung plays the junkie widow of a rock star trying to start over, get clean and make some music of her own. she sings this song in the film and i found it to be pretty haunting, especially the slide guitar.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

virbtunes is sort of like last.fm, which is even better:) iCal is great, though!

Comment by Linda

hell yeah!!

Comment by gaby

Thx for continuing your wonderful sharing of things on your mind! I am intrigued by the film and thoroughly loved the song sample…..I’m an avid collector of music and supporting the artist is a must (especially if you can get it on vinyl!) Cheers to you Max ~

Comment by Darice

Goooo MAX !! Waiting for you to take over the creative WORLD, no UNIVERSE one blog at a time !! Keep type tawkin 2 all of us : )

Comment by Evan's Aunt

Hey, MAXX –

I’m cleaning, too – I just found a stack of old letters from the former love of my life – Don’t think I’ll sell those on eBAY, but somehow I just can’t read them either – Good thing I have a blog to read : )

Comment by Ellen

OH, THANK THE SWEET BABY JESUS. OUR BELOVED,
MAXX YOU ARE BACK. I HAVE NOT KNOWN WHAT TO DO
WITHOUT YOU…

Comment by JANINE

welcome to the world of full-fledging music blogging (at least, I am sure you’ll be talking quite a bit about music here…)
Thanks for the linky, and nice post title. I was just listening to Stars’ cover of This Charming Man and it’s fantastic. I can send it over if you’ve not heard it.

Comment by heather

I didn’t really need one more thing to log into/become addicted to, but virb is sorta worth the addiction. :twitch: I wonder how much longer this video is going to take to upload to my new page….

O_O

Comment by Nicole




Leave a Reply

